What Winter Storm Warning Really Means

It means an entire day to craft away….and then blog about it. So this week we’re doing our ‘Outer Space’ theme and there’s no shortage of fun, smart ideas for content teaching on Pinterest and Teacherspayteachers. For open-ended outer space play, we’ll use our Safari Space Toob figures – if I have any left from last year or if like every year, I need to buy another one because I won’t find last year’s figures until the Space theme is finished for this year…ayeayeaye.

There are dozens of playdoh recipes floating around online but the one I’ve used for years is:

2 cups flour, 2 cups water, 1 cup salt, 1 Tbsp oil, 2 tsp cream of tartar*, and food coloring.

I whisk it together in a bowl and pour into a pan on medium heat. I stir until it becomes a single glob and then I take it out and knead it on the counter – it’s pretty hot  so I wince at first (this is probably why I don’t like making it!). Last time I made playdoh I added some fine glitter and it was so gorgeous, I couldn’t stop staring at it. When the kids would drop some on the floor, I’d pick it up and mutter under my breath! I don’t think I’ll ever NOT add glitter to playdoh again.

*just a note about the cream of tartar – I used to use 2 tablespoons but I’ve read some recipes that use the smaller amount and the stuff is so darn expensive that if it doesn’t make that much of a difference, why spend more? Do you know where the stuff comes from? I just learned this – from the bottom of wine barrels. You could really save money if you made your own wine AND cream of tartar my friends.

Anyway, back to the subject. I added black food coloring to this batch and after it was out of the pan, I kneaded in blue, pink, and gold fine glitter and small white and blue star confetti. And look at this stuff! Will I even be able to take it to school???? The picture doesn’t do justice and I don’t have the toys to put with it because – it’s a snow day! Maybe I’ll post some faceless kids playing with it later in the week. For now, it’s MINE….ALL MINE!

galaxy playdoh

One thought on “What Winter Storm Warning Really Means

Leave a Reply

