for the love of chalk paint….

My friend has been repurposing furniture and selling some of her pieces. One time she posted a finished product and said she had painted it with chalk paint. I assumed she meant chalkboard paint. No no no no….

Well I guess they are similar. The thing that drew me in was the ‘no prep’ part. That’s my kind of paint! So I bought some, and then some more, and then….you get the idea. Everything around me started to appear as it could look – if only covered in chalk paint! On Pinterest, I saw that The Happy Housie had painted an old metal file cabinet and stenciled it. Adorable! So that’s what my talented assistant Ashley did and this is how it turned out –

file cabinet edit

And since I’m now an official chalk paint repurposing junkie, here are a few pictures of my other projects completed over the past month –

dresser before and after collage

and this little desk – before

desk before

and after – with fabric decoupage and a few coats of extra thick glossy coat (Martha Stewart)

after desk

and this piece, which I don’t have a before picture of. Basically it was a plain unfinished wood shelf which I painted with a mixture of blue and yellow chalk paint and finished with clear wax and a touch of metallic copper paint. The top and back of shelves are decoupaged with damask paper…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Leave a Reply

