preparing for your medical leave….

Image

Well, it’s been quite a journey! For a month, I was insanely busy preparing for my abdominal surgery. Part of my preparation included a social story that I wrote for my kids. The day before my last day, I read the story to my kids at circle time. I think it’s important not to prepare kids for a big change too far in advance. They aren’t yet equipped to prepare for a big change but need to know it’s coming. So, my simple social story started with the above page. Here are the other pages in the story –

 

Image

 

Image

Image

 

Image

 

I sent a copy of the books home with each child and laminated a copy for the classroom. Social stories are such a great tool! Looking forward to getting back to the classroom next week for summer program!

 

Leave a Reply

